2022 Tournament of Champions

Grand Central Terminal — January 13 - 21, 2022

buy tickets

Prize Money Parity for 2015 World’s Best On Board

Back to News
December 21, 2015
by Brad Burke

The J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions announced today that the total purse for the women’s championship will nearly double in size to $118,00 to ensure prize money parity for participants at the world’s largest spectator squash event.

“Thanks to JP Morgan and their commitment to make the Tournament of Champions a worldwide leader in squash, we are thrilled to make this added commitment to the women’s division for 2015 and to plan for prize money parity and draw size equality in 2016 and beyond,” confirms Tournament Chairman John Nimick, President of Event Engine, Inc. The 2015 Men’s purse will pay $150,000 to 32 main draw players, while the newly increased Women’s purse will pay out to 20 players, ensuring parity on a round by round basis.

The Tournament of Champions has been a staple on the Professional Squash Association (PSA) circuit since 1993 and is regularly watched by more than 200,000 spectators during its week-long occupancy of Grand Central’s stunning Vanderbilt Hall.  With entries confirmed, in both the 32 player men’s and 16 player women’s main draws, spectators can look forward to an action-packed week of competition as  the 2015 championship[s include virtually all of the top ranking players in the world.

Egyptian World No.1 Mohamed Elshorbagy and the man who beat him to the 2014 PSA World Squash Championship title, World No.5 Ramy Ashour, will head the star-studded men’s field while Malaysia’s Nicol David, the defending champion who has been world #1 for eight consecutive years, will lead the talent laden women’s draw.

Gunning for his fourth ToC title will be four-time World Champion and defending Tournament of Champions title-holder Amr Shabana while three-time World Champion Nick Matthew from England and Frenchman Gregory Gaultier, winner of the 2009 title, will be looking to win their second titles. Reigning world champion Laura Massaro and world #5 Alison Waters, who together last week led England to victory in the Women’s World Team Championship, will be in the women’s title hunt along with Egyptian stars Raneem El Welily, world #3 and 19-year-old Nour El Sherbini, world #5. The hometown crowds will be cheering for Long Island’s Amanda Sobhy, world #11 and men’s wildcard entry, Todd Harrity of Philadelphia, Pa.

With the top 18 PSA-ranking players, and 23 of the world’s top 25 entered in the men’s PSA World Series event and 18 of the top 20 women in the Women’s Squash Association (WSA) Gold event, the 2015 J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions will get off to a blockbuster start in one of the most impressive venues in the world of sports.

“The J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions has always been an extraordinary championship because of the depth of the draw, and the 2015 entry list is exceptional. We are looking forward to an exhilarating and intense week of competition here in New York,” said Nimick.  “There is no venue better suited than the spectacular Grand Central Terminal to showcase that competition.”

Tickets for the 2015 J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions range in price from $8 to $170 and may be purchased at www.tocsquash.com . Patron packages are also available at www.tocsquash.com.

Men’s Entries  

1 Mohamed Elshorbagy EGY
2 Gregory Gaultier FRA
3 Nick Matthew ENG
4 Amr Shabana EGY
5 Ramy Ashour EGY
6 Peter Barker ENG
7 Borja Golan ESP
8 James Willstrop ENG
9 Tarek Momen EGY
10 Simon Rösner GER
11 Omar Mosaad EGY
12 Miguel Angel Rodriguez COL
13 Daryl Selby ENG
14 Marwan Elshorbagy EGY
15 Mathieu Castagnet FRA
16 Max Lee HKG
17 Nicolas Mueller SUI
18 Cameron Pilley AUS
19 Karim Abdel Gawad EGY
21 Stephen Coppinger RSA
22 Chris Simpson ENG
23 Saurav Ghosal IND
25 Alister Walker BOT
73 (Wildcard) Todd Harrity USA

Women’s Entries

1 Nicol David MAS
2 Laura Massaro ENG
3 Raneem El Welily EGY
4 Nour El Sherbini EGY
5 Alison Waters ENG
6 Camille Serme FRA
7 Low Wee Wern MAS
8 Nour El Tayeb EGY
9 Annie Au HKG
10 Omneya Abdel Kawy EGY
11 Amanda Sobhy USA
12 Rachael Grinham AUS


J.P Morgan, a global financial services company, has committed to a three year sponsorship renewal and is returning as the Platinum title sponsor of the tournament for the seventh year. Lexington Partners, a sponsor for 16 consecutive years, is the event’s Gold sponsor for the seventh year. Comcast NBC Universal and S&P Capital IQ, are returning as silver sponsors. On board for the first time as silver sponsors are Blu Homes, America’s leading provider of premium prefab homes and Joseph Abboud, purveyor of refined and masculine American sportswear and tailored clothing, available exclusively at Men’s Wearhouse nationwide and JosephAbboud.com.